ABOUT AIN-SHAMS UNIVERSITY
"Ain Shams" is Arabic for "oun" the Hieroglyphic name Greek "Heliopolis" - to the north of Cairo, where the sun-worship flourished in ancient times. In "Oun" priests taught classes for students in the temple colleges, and the city became a great centre of learning for thirty centuries, Amenhotep, chief engineer and high priest, and Akhenaten who preached the gospel of the one-god, were graduates of its ancient university. Great thinkers of the past like Plato and Euclied visited it in the course of their travels and heard priest professors lecturing.
"Oun" was famous for its twin obelisks, one of which taken to London in the nineteenth century it still stands as "Cleopatra's Needle" . The more ancient one remains in Cairo where it has been for thousands of years. No wonder then that Ain Shams University which maintains in modern times the tradition of learning of its glorious ancestor has for its emblem the obelisk and a hawk, an ancient symbol of the sun, on both sides.
Ain Shams University came into existence in 1950 by a Royal Decree under the name of "Ibrahim Pasha Univ.". In 1954 the name was changed to "Ain Shams" by a President Decree. The name links it with the old university and its ancestral roots in Egyptian history and tradition.When the University was established 1950, its first premises were in Munira district. In 1952 it was moved to Za'afran Palace in Abbasseyeh, Previously a royal guest palace and now housing the offices of the Presidents, the Secretary-General and two Assistant Secretary-Generals.